Update on Release 0.2 (Part 2)

In the first week of release 0.2 I was panning to work on a bug in react-native. For week2 I tried setting up the environment but it ended up taking a lot of my time. For week 3 I tried to work on Microsoft/TypeScript.

The bug in Microsoft/TypeScript I was trying to work on, I misunderstood it. Moreover, because of not getting quick replies from the contributors I decided to make a Pull request of the changes I made. Later they had to close the pull request as it was not referring to the issue. I updated the error message while for the bug they wanted to update the functionality. Since, I was falling behind I thought it would be a good idea to move to another project this is simpler.

Marquez is an open source metadata service for the collection, aggregation, and visualization of a data ecosystem’s metadata. I found some interesting issues to work on in Marquez. I started with: bind {job} in path variable with JobName.

While working on this issue I came across lombok. Lombok helps developers not code getters, setters or toString converters for every class. It has certain data annotations that we have to mention (for an instance: @Getter, @Setter, @ToString) and it automatically does it for us.

Marquez has a JobName class that uses lombok. At the beginning I was not aware about the functionality of lombok so I wrote a manual getter function to access private value of the class. It passed all tests. However, one of the contributers of Marquez, after reviewing my code suggested to to remove the manual function and just write getNameOfTheVariable() in order to get the private value.

As I mentioned here getValue() is an automated code. After exploring this new feature of java I am more drawn to work on Java based projects!

Links:

features of Lombok

pull request to bind {jobname} to JobName class.


Leave a comment